New board sworn in


PNG Power swore in its new Board Chairman and seven Directors on July 7, 2011.

CEO Mr Tony Koiri, his EMT and representatives from IPBC witnessed the swearing in at PPL’s boardroom.

Mr William Kenjibi, who had been acting Chairman since 2009, was sworn in to the position by Deputy Chief Magistrate Iova Geita.

Mr Geita also swore in new Directors Mr Noel Mobiha, Mr Posman Kisakiu, Professor Albert Mellam, Mr Fred Wak and Mr Thomas Laka.

Mr Sana Somare and Mr Jerry Kaon were sworn in a week later.

At the swearing in, Mr Kenjibi thanked IPBC for its support and congratulated all directors.

“I hope your contribution and support will grow the company in the right direction,” he said.

The Chairman said the new directors will give PPL Board a wider representation and view on operations.

“I look forward to working with you all, as we share new ideas and take the next step forward.”

Public Enterprises Secretary Mr Mathias Laisa said all appointments were merit based and followed all processes.

“PPL has a role to play in nation building. By 2030, seventy percent of Papua New Guineans should have access to electricity,” Mr Laisa said.

He said there were many challenges and stressed the need for greater collaboration between IPBC, Ministry, government and PPL.

“We have every confidence in the board to lead us through these challenges.”

Mr Koiri also congratulated the new board chairman and directors and made a presentation to them about PPL and its operations.